Lunacy Unleashed

Notes from the field in the War on Spam

Bad Behavior Project Update

Make a Donation.

There’s no release of Bad Behavior this week, as no new bugs have been reported, and no new spammers have been blocked.

But there is a posting, because I am hard at work on a related project to identify and block more spammers before they can even send their first spam, and I need your help.

If you would like to help with this project, and you are running a high traffic blog getting a lot of blocked spam (or missed spam), you may qualify. E-mail me at badbots@ioerror.us with your blog address and an estimate of how much spam Bad Behavior blocks, and how much it misses, in any given day. If you’re only getting a small amount of spam, it’s probably not worth it; I’m looking for higher traffic sites.

You can also help by making a financial contribution. I develop Bad Behavior in my limited spare time, and every little bit allows me to devote more time to battling spammers.

August 11, 2006 - Posted by | Bad Behavior, Blog Spam, Spam, WordPress

2 Comments

  1. […] Michael Hampton needs some volunteers for “a project to identify and block more spammers before they can even send their first spam.” […]

    Pingback by MacManX.com | Blogroll Dive: 8/21/06 | August 21, 2006

  2. I would of volunteered up until last week where i thought i was getting a large number of spams 200+ a day until i firewall blocked a couple of ip address’ [81.95.146.162] and now its down to only abut 4 attempts a day so i doubt my site would be much use for testing…

    Comment by Dave Arrowsmith | August 29, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

