Lunacy Unleashed

Notes from the field in the War on Spam

Syndic8 and PubSub blocked by Bad Behavior 1.2.4

I’ve received several reports that the crawlers used by Syndic8 and PubSub are being blocked by the latest version of Bad Behavior.

The denial message reads, Header ”Pragma” without ”Cache-Control” prohibited for HTTP/1.1 requests.

(This is part of a series of new tests for spambots which claim to use the HTTP/1.1 protocol but actually do not do so properly.)

The trouble has been traced to a problem with those particular bots, and Syndic8 and PubSub have been notified.

Until they are able to fix their bots, you can add them to Bad Behavior’s whitelist.

Update: If you’re being blocked by Bad Behavior, don’t comment here. Read this.

December 4, 2005 - Posted by | WordPress.com

21 Comments

  1. I get blocked do by this error, but I didn’t do anything! How can I even control my headers?!

    Please help.

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 9, 2005

  2. do=too

    Comment by oops | December 9, 2005

  3. I can do nothing for you, since you failed to leave a valid email address to contact you.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 9, 2005

  4. It’s better to answer here and help other people, but if you insist here it is

    BTW, I have only an inbound firewall (that blocks ports from being used as servers), no proxy and XP’s IE 6.

    Thanks!

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 9, 2005

  5. The problem, then, is specific to the proxy server you’re using. (Don’t say you aren’t; it’s clear that you are. It probably came with your firewall and automatically enabled itself.) This check does not block Internet Explorer on Windows XP.

    The instructions on what to do when this thing happens, which I apparently forgot to link to here, are elsewhere on this site.

    I haven’t e-mailed you since you again didn’t provide a valid address; if you read the above linked article and still need further assistance, feel free to contact me.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 9, 2005

  6. I swear I don’t use a proxy (maybe my ISP does something in their own computers?). I’d show you a screenshot of my IE’s connections tab to show you it’s empty…

    Also, my e-mail is valid. Just try and see I’d reply back.

    P.S.
    What’s the time limit after I get locked out?

    Thanks!

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 10, 2005

  7. Sorry, but you’re going to have to contact me instead. Go read the above linked article and follow directions.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 10, 2005

  8. Listen, I’m asking for help as a user and not as a webmaster (although if we fix this I may use it too). I’m currently locked out of any site in the world that has the newest version of Bad Behavior and can’t do nothing about it.

    But I’ve checked out your HTTP headers tool and found something interesting – sometimes I get “Pragma: no-cache” and sometimes I don’t…and I found a pattern! See, I get it if this is a fresh loading (first time I’m there after a while or if I click ctrl+f5 [i.e. total refresh]).

    What do you think about the pattern?

    I shall contact you now.

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 10, 2005

  9. Well, guess what?! I can’t contact you because once I click “submit” in your contact page, I get the 412 error!

    I would use the address the 412 error states and hope it’s really yours.

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 10, 2005

  10. You are perfectly capable of contacting me; I even left my email address on the “what to do” page you apparently didn’t read. And I even got an email from you with an invalid return address. What am I supposed to do with that?

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 10, 2005

  11. What do you mean “invalid”? It’s my address. Just reply.

    Didn’t read? What do PHPMyAdmin and MySQL have to do with me as a user that can’t visit certain sites?

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 10, 2005

  12. If you can’t visit certain sites, you need to contact the people who run those sites in order to receive assistance.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 10, 2005

  13. Dear Michael, please understand – I can’t visit sites that use the newest version of Bad Behavior. Or if you will, I’m slowly being blocked by sites once they install your newest version. Although I see I can finally use your contact form without being blocked.

    Anyway, all of them tell it’s because of the “Prgma: no-cache” issue and all of them refer me to you!

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 10, 2005

  14. Well, you shouldn’t have lied to me in the first place. You WERE using a poorly written proxy, just like I said. And once you disabled it, everything was fine.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 13, 2005

  15. I’m sorry. I use Proxomitron and had it on bypass mode. I thought bypass was equal to not having it run at all.

    Please let’s continue this discussion in the correct topic (click on my name) as I would like to know more about Proxomitron vs. Bad Bevavior.

    Comment by Blocked by Pragma | December 14, 2005

  16. I’ve added both of these to my whitelist and they’re still being blocked…

    Here’s the text from bad-behavior-whitelist.php:

    $wp_bb_whitelist_user_agents = array(
    “Syndic8/1.0 (http://www.syndic8.com/)”,
    “PubSub-RSS-Reader/1.1 (http://www.pubsub.com/)”,
    );

    I’m using a great spoofer for testing that I found here:
    http://www.puremango.co.uk/cm_headerspoof_14.php

    Comment by 3choBoomer | December 21, 2005

  17. I’ve also experienced a good bit of blockage of people using the Konqueror/3.x web browser from the KDE.

    Blocking reason: Required header ‘Accept’ missing

    according to them (them being the Konqueror developers) it is not required by the HTTP spec:
    http://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=20018

    Any suggestions?

    Comment by 3choBoomer | December 21, 2005

  18. Hm, that Konqueror problem was fixed YEARS ago. If you’re seeing Konqueror users blocked, they are most likely fake, generated by spambots.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | December 21, 2005

  19. Any suggestions for my other problem?

    Comment by 3choBoomer | December 22, 2005

  20. Any help???

    I’ve added both of these to my whitelist and they’re still being blocked…

    Here’s the text from bad-behavior-whitelist.php:

    $wp_bb_whitelist_user_agents = array(
    “Syndic8/1.0 (http://www.syndic8.com/)?,
    “PubSub-RSS-Reader/1.1 (http://www.pubsub.com/)?,
    );

    I’m using a great spoofer for testing that I found here:
    http://www.puremango.co.uk/cm_headerspoof_14.php

    Comment by 3choBoomer | January 4, 2006

  21. Yes, go read the original post. It clearly says don’t comment here, go read a certain page instead.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | January 5, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

