Lunacy Unleashed

Notes from the field in the War on Spam

WordPress 2.0 Beta 1 Released

WordPress 2.0 Beta 1 was quietly released early Saturday morning. So quietly that this is probably the first post about it anywhere.

Previously known as 1.6, lead developer Matt Mullenweg decided that the changes to WordPress were extensive enough to warrant a major version number change.

I’ve been running it at Make Stupidity History for some time, and while there are certainly still a few bugs to iron out, it’s probably almost ready for prime time.

It is certainly ready for plugin authors to start working with and updating their plugins. Many plugin authors will find that their plugins are broken in 2.0 and need to be updated, due to the extensive internal changes.

If you need help with it, post in the Beta forum.

Download WordPress 2.0 Beta 1.

Update: I received word that several people posted about the beta before I did. But none of them offered nearly as much useful information about it.🙂

November 19, 2005 - Posted by | WordPress, WordPress 2.0, WordPress.com

16 Comments

  1. Well, you posted it before me actually😦

    But, yes your post is more useful😉

    I grumbled about Akismet in my post

    Comment by Ajay | November 19, 2005

  2. […] 그냥 워드프레스 대쉬보드를 ?다가(다 ?어?서 60%는 건성으로 넘긴다) 워드프레스 2.0 beta가 릴리즈 ??다는 얘기를 들었다. via~Lunacy Unleashed […]

    Pingback by Nera #slow step » Blog Archive » 워드프레스 2.0 beta 릴리즈 | November 19, 2005

  3. […] So, since they started calling it 2.0 tonight, I downloaded and installed the latest and greatest, and I’m in the process of first, installing and configuring all the neat plug-ins and stuff I want using the default template, then I’ll start work again on my own. […]

    Pingback by Charles W. Stricklin » Blog Archive » My blog is broken | November 19, 2005

  4. WordPress 2.0 beta 1

            WordPress 2.0 Beta 1 在周六早些时候?悄悄的?布了。
            1.5 的?级版本原??? 1.6 ,这次??性的跳跃到 2.0 ,是因为开?领头人 Matt Mullenweg 认为在 …

    Trackback by quakemachine | November 19, 2005

  5. […] I haven’t noticed any issues yet.  All my plugins even seem to be working correctly.  I really love the new and improved dashboard.  And my current theme works as it did before with no problems.  I definately noticed beta1, as did a couple other bloggers, and probably a lot more.  There’s a discussion about the beta going on at the WordPress support forums.  There’s already some pretty large lists of compatible plugins.  I’ll write more about this later, along with a few other related items.  I’m goin to bed now. […]

    Pingback by T. Longren » WordPress 2.0 Beta 1 | November 19, 2005

  6. Have they started using the new version on wordpress.com? I have had some things stop working on my Blog, and and not finding any notices as to why things are changing. (Graphics disapering and now I cant post using Firefox)
    Scott

    Comment by slnewkirk | November 19, 2005

  7. I’ve never used anything but Firefox here, and never had trouble. But I don’t post all that frequently either.

    Things are changing because the code is being actively developed.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | November 19, 2005

  8. This is the first place that I heard about 2.0. Im going to install it later it give it a try!

    Comment by domainblog | November 19, 2005

  9. WordPress 2.0 Beta 1

    Contrariando a todos, um dos desenvolvedores do WordPress, Matt Mullenweg, achou que as várias mudanças feitas na nova versão, seria suficiente para uma troca no número da versão, de 1.6 para 2.0.
    Foi oficialmente lançada a versão 2.0 Beta 1, n…

    Trackback by GMM Weblog | November 20, 2005

  10. […] The only blog to make it clear, however, that WP2 is in fact the ‘upgraded’ version number of WP 1.6 (which I’ve been running for a long time now) … is Lunacy Unleashed. […]

    Pingback by BrittaBlog » Blog Archive » WordPress 2 | November 21, 2005

  11. ?文章的时候??怎么?空格?
    我?的文章????的空格会被?掉,好烦。

    Comment by hiparrot | November 22, 2005

  12. 我试一下用&nbsp行?行。
    &nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp&nbsp??有空格么?

    Comment by hiparrot | November 22, 2005

  13. hiparrot, you have your own blog to play with; you don’t need to do it here.🙂

    Anyway, to answer your question, you can force a blank space by using   (it seems you forgot the “;”).

    Comment by Michael Hampton | November 22, 2005

  14. Well Michael, have updated my post since you post.

    Well with WordPress.com open to public now, persons wanting to use Akismet have easy access to the API, but….

    Comment by Ajay | November 22, 2005

  15. Beta 2 is out

    Comment by VxJasonxV | November 22, 2005

  16. As far as I know 2.0 still does not make it possible to show how many guest and which users are currently online in the sidebar. I really don’t get it why the WordPress developing community isn’t creating more direct community building plugins, like the basic option described in my recent post User Online for WordPress 1.5 and higher and its comments. Although I think that the extra options 2.0 offers are a beginning of such developments.

    I hope that more and more php professionals are supporting Greg in his efforts to make such a plugin unde GPL. I lack the php skills to develop such plugins myself.

    Comment by Vincent | December 17, 2005


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

