Lunacy Unleashed

Notes from the field in the War on Spam

The new New Coke: Black Cherry Vanilla Coke

The Coca-Cola Company is doing away with Vanilla Coke and Diet Vanilla Coke in the U.S. and the U.K. Diet Coke with Lemon will also be phased out in the U.S.

A spokesperson for Coca-Cola gave the usual B.S. about adjusting their product lines to quickly meet consumer demands.

In its place, at least in the U.S., will be Black Cherry Vanilla Coke and Diet Black Cherry Vanilla Coke. The U.K., lucky them, will finally get Diet Cherry Coke.

Excuse me? I wanted Vanilla Coke! If I wanted Cherry Coke, that’s what I would have ordered! I certainly don’t want them both! And if I did want them both, I’d mix them myself from the soda fountain.

I give it a year before Coca-Cola sees the error of its ways and brings back Vanilla Coke.

November 5, 2005 - Posted by | Coca-Cola, Vanilla Coke

23 Comments

  1. I love Vanilla Coke and am very sad they’re doing away with it😦.

    Comment by Aubrey | November 5, 2005

  2. Figures. Vanilla Coke (diet or otherwise) is the only cola my wife will voluntarily drink.

    I have to wonder about the spokesman who said, “I don’t know if we have ever taken out a flavor and brought it back to the market.” Can they have actually forgotten the New Coke/Classic Coke fiasco?

    Time to stock up, I guess.

    Comment by Kelson | November 5, 2005

  3. I like my vanilla coke. I like my cherry coke. I adore my strawberry coke.

    Solution? Get it from someplace that mixes it for you, such as the Tobacco Bowl. And not from Starbucks, which is aligned with Pepsi and hence doesn’t do flavored sodas. 😉

    Comment by Azzurra | November 6, 2005

  4. Consumer demands? Or the excellent sales of Dr Pepper Cherry Vanilla?

    Hmmmmmmm

    Comment by Rori | November 11, 2005

  5. Vanilla Coke… women love it!

    Comment by women | November 13, 2005

  6. […] Coca-Cola recently started selling black cherry vanilla-flavored Coke and Diet Coke and said it will stop selling Diet Coke with Lemon, Vanilla Coke and Diet Vanilla Coke because of weak demand. — Bloomberg News […]

    Pingback by Lunacy Unleashed » Welcome to the Coke side of life | December 8, 2005

  7. Coke w/ Black Cherry and Vanilla is awesome!!

    Comment by Lunatic 1 | December 31, 2005

  8. LIMECoke! LimeVanillaCoke where are U??????

    Comment by Tina Evans | January 1, 2006

  9. ive tasted the new black cherry vanilla coke and it is to heavy on the vanilla. ill just stick with cherry coke and cherry vanilla doctor pepper,which is not loaded with vanilla

    Comment by susan dunn | January 10, 2006

  10. i tried one today and it is better then the original vanilla coke

    Comment by tyler | January 11, 2006

  11. Great, now I’m going to have to go find one myself and try it. I loved Vanilla Coke, and I’m not looking forward to this.

    Comment by Michael Hampton | January 11, 2006

  12. well, I had just found CHERRY VANILLA DR PEPPER last week on long island after months or only seeing the DIET one. i love it.

    as for coke canceling the vanilla coke, BIG MISTAKE. of course, pepsi will cater to those who loved the vanilla flavored soda.

    i just found black cherry vanilla coke it is good, but i want my vanilla coke back.

    what is the shelf life for a 2 liter bottle of soda?

    Comment by KENNY GUIDO | January 17, 2006

  13. Judging by the expiration dates printed on the bottles, about four months, give or take. After that, they may start tasting funny, but they should be drinkable for a year or more, if properly sealed, and if you can get past the funny taste. And remember, I know nothing about this, so if you die from drinking expired Coke, it’s YOUR fault.🙂

    Comment by Michael Hampton | January 17, 2006

  14. Hey guys, just got to say I’m loving the news about the new diet cherry coke being released in the uk, god knows I’ve deprived myself of a good fizzy drink for years (weight issues) but if this new diet cherry coke is half as good as the original cherry coke I’d be one happy customer!!😀

    Comment by imi | January 30, 2006

  15. I LOVE Diet Black Cherry Vanilla Coke. Where have you been all my life? Now that I’ve found you, please don’t ever leave me!

    Comment by Cindy | February 17, 2006

  16. Black Cherry Vanilla Coke rocks!!!!

    Comment by Debbie | March 15, 2006

  17. I’m with you. I liked the Diet Vanilla. I tried the Diet Cherry Vanilla and found it too sweet. I’ll try this one, but assume it will probably be too sweet also. :-p

    Comment by Victoria | April 3, 2006

  18. I’m seriously ticked off that Coke is pulling this one again. I LOVE Diet Vanilla and it sucks that they’ve discontinued it. SO, I’ve found a way to make my own DVC. SF Da Vinci Vanilla (sugarless for me!) Syrup is awesome!! It only takes about half a capful per can of DC and it tastes just like what they were making.😛 to you, Coke makers!!!

    Comment by Purrrkitten | May 16, 2006

  19. Black Cherry Vanilla is a seasonal swap with Vanilla. The regular Vanilla will be back out towards the fall/winter time.

    Comment by Consumer | June 6, 2006

  20. Please bring back diet vanilla coke!!!!

    Comment by Jacqueline Foshey | June 25, 2006

  21. I made a video commemorating Vanilla Coke. All you V-Coke fans out there will connect on an emotional level with my sadness in discontinuing the drink from the US.

    http://www.vmix.com/viewVideo.php?ID=798674

    That’s the link. Lets get vanilla coke back!

    A.J.

    Comment by AJ Stich | July 12, 2006

  22. Please bring back Vanilla coke to the United States, it is my favorite soda.

    Comment by Susan Rodgers | September 14, 2006

  23. vanilla coke was my favorite :O((((

    Comment by James in Cala Dor Palma de Mallorca | September 24, 2006


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

