Lunacy Unleashed

Notes from the field in the War on Spam

What to do with a WordPress.com invitation?

I think I like WordPress.com. But there’s one thing that is really starting to bother me.

I have an invitation to give out to some lucky soul.

Ever since opening this blog I have been inundated with requests for an invitation. And I haven’t decided yet what to do with it.

No one yet has convinced me to part with the lone invitation. I’m loath to give it to someone who already has a Web site, for such a person could install WordPress themselves in about five minutes. And thus far everyone I’ve seen seems to have their own site already.

One person put up his WordPress.com invitation on eBay where it fetched about $46. Maybe I should let these people vote with their dollars as to how badly they want the invitation.

So, before I go puttting it on eBay like this other guy did, give me some ideas. How far will you go to get a WordPress.com invitation? What’s the craziest thing you’re willing to do? Get creative.

September 1, 2005 - Posted by | WordPress, WordPress.com

8 Comments

  1. Well, to tell you the truth there isn’t much that I wont do for that invite.
    I will adopt a hungry Nigerian child and name him IO ERROR and give him a t-shirt with your sites name on it. Or not. Here is your chance to save a poor child.
    To be honest I have no idea what I can say here, that will make you give me the invitation. You sure by now know, that I really want it. I have kind of a strange life I must say and that blog would be a great place where I can broadcast my most amazing stories.
    Ok I will stop blabbering now and hope for the best. Like a great man once said – your coping style determines your pasting style.

    Thank you!

    Comment by Kelso | September 1, 2005

  2. So what exactly will you be using this blog for?

    Dedicated to Bad Behavior?

    Comment by Ajay | September 14, 2005

  3. Hey! You have a WordPress site! How’d you get one?🙂
    No fair!
    Hmm…. what can I do to make you part with your invitation….

    heh.. Sell on it ebay, man. That’s what I’d do. Make some money. Of course, I’m a citeewurkor, so I sell almost anything I have of value to put food on the table.

    Comment by MeeCiteeWurkor | September 16, 2005

  4. Now, I’m not 100% I’d go as far as following the steps below (haven’t made up my mind ;)), but it’s definately the best way to advertise WordPress and be remembered forever.

    You go up to the roof of a 5-6 level building. String piano wire tight across the front edge at neck level. Tie a cord to your foot and the other end to the building so that you’ll be above sidewalk level when its fully stretched. Using a mirror and a permanent black (or whatever your color preference is) marker, write WORDPRESS (or IO_ERROR) across your forehead. Then put a LOT of superglue on your hands, and put your arms around the front of the wire and then back to touch your head. Then you lean forward, so the piano wire cuts your neck but not your elbows. When the cord goes taut, you’ll be hanging upside down with no head on your neck. It will be in your outstretched arms thanks to gravity and the glue, staring at someone upside down and spewing blood everywhere. And some poor soul will be traumatized for LIFE, not to mention that he’ll probably donate all his savings to WordPress foundation.

    word😉

    Comment by Firenze | September 16, 2005

  5. umm.. that’s uhmm.. interesting?

    Comment by MeeCiteeWurkor | September 17, 2005

  6. Well you know me io invite should be left for developer of plugins or users that are working on wp not for all.
    Pierre

    Comment by lafrance | September 29, 2005

  7. What would I do for a WordPress.com invitation? I’d go back to school tomorrow and spend the next nine years in medical school, specializing in obstetrics. After investing years of hard work and effort, I’d eventually go into private practice and, ultimately, start delivering my patients’ babies. And I’d do it all so that with each new birth, after each life-inducing slap on the back or pinch on the butt, I could hold the newborn child up and whisper in her ear, “Don’t forget to write a blog using WordPress someday!” before handing the precious bundle off to her new parents.

    Comment by Adam Newbold | October 16, 2005

  8. Newbie question if I may? Just downloaded WordPress in order to install it. It was the best solution I found. So I’m inexperienced, abit or alot, who knows, or cares. But what is “an invitations”

    Just Wondering
    Michael

    Comment by Michael | November 9, 2005


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

